Jib Booms

wkent
Posts: 4
Joined: 06/12/2009, 11:03

Jib Booms

Postby wkent » 07/12/2009, 0:19

What is the advantage of using the design Jib Boom over a Hoyt type Jib Boom ?

As a newcomer my thoughts are the Hoyt boom looks more authentic, uses forestay, no need for jib topping lift.

Thanks to Claudio and Matthias for desing and assistance. I will be starting my build soon. Anchorage Alaska USA

User avatar
matthias72
Posts: 1752
Joined: 04/07/2008, 16:33
Location: ROMA

Re: Jib Booms

Postby matthias72 » 07/12/2009, 0:48

Hello wkent and wellcome.
Sorry, could you show me the the difference between the two type? I don't know in english the meaning of "hoyt"...

Thanks

Matthias
--------------------------------------
THE LIFE IS SHORT: SAIL HARD!
--------------------------------------

wkent
Posts: 4
Joined: 06/12/2009, 11:03

Re: Jib Booms

Postby wkent » 07/12/2009, 2:21

Hi Matthias,

Thanks for the reply. Here is a link that shows a Hoyt boom (full size yacht) http://www.garryhoyt.com/id38.html and an attached photo from http://forums.sailinganarchy.com/index. ... U40&st=100
Attachments
U40.jpg
U40.jpg (236.65 KiB) Viewed 4015 times

User avatar
matthias72
Posts: 1752
Joined: 04/07/2008, 16:33
Location: ROMA

Re: Jib Booms

Postby matthias72 » 07/12/2009, 21:15

Ok!
The hoyt jib boom allows a better stability of jib and using a internal mechanism you can open the jib indipendently. IACC 120 rules doesn't allow the hoyt jib, too complicate and expansive if used with internal mechanism.
Please send us image of your work!

Regards

Matthias
--------------------------------------
THE LIFE IS SHORT: SAIL HARD!
--------------------------------------

wkent
Posts: 4
Joined: 06/12/2009, 11:03

Re: Jib Booms

Postby wkent » 08/12/2009, 5:30

Okay, I understand the IACC120 Class uses the full Jib Booms. I am a little dissapointed as I thought the Hoyt syle jib boom a more elegant solution. The U40 model pictured only has two servos, rudder, main and jib. The sheets are setup the same as in the IACC120 drawings.
My build is only getting started. I still have to cut out the shadows and mount them to a build board.
Thank you for taking the time to answer my questions.


Return to “Tecnical Topics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest